Faculty Awards Motion

This motion is designed to better align our campus awards for increased consistency. The awards are not consistent in terms of due dates or committees. The information below will replace the relevant content in all four awards.

Part 1: Consistency in Application Dates

Applications for our two most prestigious awards (Claude Rich Teaching Award and the 5-years Research Award) shall be due on October 15th.

Applications for our annual awards (Trustees Teaching Award, Annual Research Award) shall be due April 1st.

Part 2: Consistency in Committees

Academic Affairs shall form two committees for awards:

- 1. The Faculty Scholarship Awards Committee. This committee shall be formed each fall by the Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. Membership on the committee is for a 1-year term. The committee shall review applications for all awards involving scholarly, research, and creative activity. The committee shall be constituted with unit representation similar to that of a Faculty Senate Committee, as described in 1.2 of the Faculty Senate Bylaws. Members of the committee should be research active and preferably should have records as accomplished researchers. Typically, no more than two members of the committee shall lack tenure. The Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs shall strive to form a committee that represents the diversity of the campus. Faculty applying for a scholarship award shall not serve on the committee.
- 2. The Teaching Awards Committee. This committee shall be formed each fall by the Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. Membership on the committee is for a 1-year term. The committee shall review applications for all awards involving teaching. The committee shall be constituted with unit representation similar to that of a Faculty Senate Committee, as described in 1.2 of the Faculty Senate Bylaws. Members of the committee should preferably have records as accomplished researchers. Typically, no more than two members of the committee shall be probationary faculty (unpromoted faculty, such as Lecturers or Assistant Professors). The Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs shall strive to form a committee that represents the diversity of the campus. Faculty applying for a teaching award shall not serve on the committee.

These changes shall take place effective July 1st, 2018.