Governance Policies 24 January 2003

1. Faculty Meetings

- (a) Faculty meetings are normally open. A meeting may be closed, however, when dealing with confidential or personal matters.
- (b) All faculty in the Department of Linguistics attending a meeting are eligible to vote (except as specified below under Personnel Decisions). "Faculty in the Department" is defined as all persons with a tenured, tenure-track, or multi-year appointment in Linguistics.

2. Administrative Structure

The Department has three standing committees, the Executive Committee, the Admissions Committee, and the Curriculum and Student Affairs Committee, and various ad hoc committees. Assignment to committees other than the Executive Committee and other service duties are made by the Chair in consultation with the individual faculty members. Members of departmental committees determine their own operating procedures.

- (a) The Admissions Committee has the following responsibilities: (i) evaluation of all admissions applications to the graduate program (M.A. and Ph.D. Level); (ii) recruitment of new students; (iii) evaluation of applications for fellowships by prospective students; and (iv) review and evaluation of admissions policies. The Committee's recommendations are made directly to the Chair, except when major policy issues are involved, in which case the matter should be brought before a full faculty meeting.
- (b) The Curriculum and Student Affairs Committee is responsible for reviewing and evaluating curricular matters concerning course offerings and degree requirements and developing any proposals for change. Committee recommendations are brought before the entire faculty for consideration and approval.
- (c) The Executive Committee is composed of the Chair and two members elected annually by the faculty of the Department. The committee handles problems or issues that would be inappropriate

to refer to another departmental committee or which would be inconvenient or inadvisable to bring directly to a full faculty meeting. The Committee also serves in an advisory capacity to the Chair. The Committee's specific responsibilities include (i) the assignment of faculty merit ratings for purposes of salary increases; (ii) the allocation or reallocation of office space and furnishings; (iii) the nomination and ranking of current students for fellowships and research and travel grants; and (iv) recommendations to the Chair concerning allocation of AI-ships.

3. Teaching Assignments

The normal teaching load in the Department is two courses per semester. Released-time and other special arrangements are negotiated with the Chair. The Chair is to make every effort to ensure that teaching assignments are equitable and efficacious, based on factors including (i) faculty preferences, (ii) curricular needs, (iii) expertise, and (iv) a balance between high and low enrollment courses, graduate and undergraduate courses, and required and elective courses.

4. Personnel Decisions

- (a) Votes on personnel matters are by closed, written ballot.
- (b) Only tenured faculty at the rank of Associate Professor or higher may vote on reappointments at the rank of Assistant Professor or on tenure decisions and promotions to Associate Professor. Only tenured faculty at the rank of Full Professor may vote on promotions to Full Professor.

(c) Only tenured or tenure-track faculty may vote on tenure-track and tenured hiring.

5. Selection of Department Chair

The Department Chair is appointed by the Dean of the College. The Faculty of the Department make their views known to the Dean during the selection process through personal interviews and/or memoranda and/or Departmental elections.

6. Salary

Recommendations to the Dean regarding increments to faculty salary are made in accordance with the Department's salary policy then in force.

7. Procedures for Changing Governance Policies

These governance policies are to be re-evaluated periodically in compliance with general Indiana University procedures. Amendments to or modifications of these policies require an absolute majority of votes cast.