Indiana University Kokomo

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes April 23, 2007 Meeting

Attended by: Aamidor, Aniskiewicz, Becker, Besel, Bener, Bourus, Bradley, Brehmer, Brown, Calhoon, Cameron, Cantu, Chulkov, Clark, Cox, Ficht, Gillette, Green, Hansen, Holcomb, Hughey, Isenburg, Jones, Keene, Kintzele, Kunle, Kurtz, Levashina, McKay, McLean, Meybodi, Mosley, Pico-Argel, Randle, Ridlen, Roales, Roden, Saam, Safianow, Sehr, Sigler, Snoddy, Sorgman, Steel, Symonds, Taff, Waters, Wysong, Xie, Zody. Guest: T. Sehr

Topic	Discussion	Action
The Senate observed a moment of silence for the Virginia		
Tech tragedy.		
Approval of Minutes of March 26, 2007		Approved
Terri Bourus, Chair of the Nominating Committee, conducted the ballot for Faculty Senate Officers.	Election results: President: Marilyn Kintzele Vice President: Todd Bradley Parliamentarian: Robin Symonds Secretary: Scott Jones UFC Representative: Karl Besel	
Vice Chancellor's Remarks: Vice Chancellor Green	 Vice Chancellor Green discussed campus safety and security, distributing a campus safety brochure. He announced the upcoming creation of a task force to study becoming a laptop campus. 	
Christine Taff and Jesús Pico-Argel presented information concerning the organization Ambassadors for Children.		
Mohammad Meybodi, Chair of the Faculty Senate Administrative Review Committee, brought forth for approval a survey instrument for the review of the Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs		Approved
Mohammad Meybodi, Chair of the Faculty Senate Administrative Review Committee, submitted the 2006-07 report on the review of Jack Tharp, Vice Chancellor for Student Services and Enrollment Management.		Accepted
Todd Bradley, Chair of the Faculty Affairs Committee, led a town hall discussion concerning options for changing the format of the Faculty Senate.	After a lengthy discussion, a sense of the Senate vote was conducted on several of the options. The results were as follows: Lower quorum—32 votes Switch to representative faculty—3 votes Keep as is—2 votes	Approved

Respectfully submitted by Scott Jones, Secretary